Club News‎ > ‎

Belfry Senior Football Championship Group 3 Round 6

posted 26 Sep 2015, 11:41 by Tourlestrane GAA PRO
Belfry Senior Football Championship Group 3 Round 6
Venue: Tourlestrane GAA Park
Tourlestrane 0-14 Eastern Harps 1-11

An entertaining game took place in Tourlestrane tonight as the old rivals scored 26 scores between them in a drawn encounter. The results means both teams qualify from the group for the Sligo Senior Football Champioship Quarter Finals. 

Thomas Cryan opened the game with a 45' after 1 minute for Eastern Harps, Pat Harte soon replying with a free for Tourlestrane. Tony Taylor pointed from distance on the 5th minute to put Harps back in front but this was once again cancelled out with a Pat Harte free. Brian Craig scored a point before the home side scored 3 unanswered points through Gerry McGowan, Pat Harte and John Quinn. A goal from Thomas Cryan in the 21st minute put Harps. Tourlestrane had a chance to get a goal of their own in the 25th minute had Gary Gaughans shot not taken a deflection. Alan Dunne scored the qualiser for Tourlestrane on the 32nd minute of the first half with a long distant effort leaving the teams level at the interval.

 The half time score 0-6 to 1-3.

The second half started with Gerry McGowan and Thomas Cryan swapping frees before Tourlestrane hit 3 points, McGowan, Alan Dunne and substitute James Leonard registering scores for the green and gold. Harps midfielder, Kevin Gallagher was issued the only black card of the game during this spell of play. Cyran and Stephen Henry exchanged good scores before Easter Harps hit 8 minutes of dominance which saw them score 5 points, Cryan (2), Fiachra Gorman (2) and Michael Clarke all getting on the scoreboard. McGowan and Cyran pointed on the 24th and 26th minute respectively to leave the score 1-11 to 0-12 points in favour of the Eastern team. But Tourlestrane finished strong and received scores from corner back,Colin Neary, and an equaliser in the 30th minute from Pat Harte, ensured a draw and a share of the spoils in the last round of Group 3.

 Final score 0-14 to 1-11.

Tourlestrane: Padraig McVeigh, Diarmuid Dunne (Cpt), Barry Walsh, Colin Neary(0-01), John F Carr, Noel Gaughan, Brian Kennedy, Adrian McIntyre, Stephen Henry(0-01), Gary Gaughan, Pat Harte(0-04), Niall Egan, Alan Dunne(0-02), John Quinn(0-01), Gerry McGowan(0-04).
Subs: James Leonard(0-01) for Quinn, John Marren for D Dunne. 

Eastern Harps: Stephen Heraughty, Darragh Madden, Ross Donavan (Cpt), Keith Judge, Kevin Cryan, Mike Grady, Michael Clarke (0-1), Kevin Gallagher (BC), Tony Taylor(0-01), Daniel Flaherty, John Rafferty, Brian Craig(0-01), Gavin Horan, Thomas Cryan(1-6), Martin Doherty 
Subs: Barry Cryan, Fiachra Gorman (0-2)