Club News‎ > ‎

Club News: 27th of September 2015

posted 27 Sep 2015, 10:53 by Tourlestrane GAA PRO   [ updated 28 Sep 2015, 12:51 ]

Well done to our U-16 boys who were crowned County U-16 A Shield Winners on Monday night. The team beat Shamrock Gaels on a score of 3-12 to 0-9. Adam Broe received the cup on behalf of the team and management. Well done to all the players, management and parents involved.

An entertaining game took place in Tourlestrane on Saturday night in round 6 of Group 3 of the Sligo Senior Championship as there were 26 scores in a drawn encounter with Eastern Harps. The results means both teams qualify from the group for the Sligo Senior Football Champioship Quarter Finals.

Thomas Cryan opened the game with a 45' after 1 minute for Eastern Harps, Pat Harte soon replying with a free for Tourlestrane. Tony Taylor pointed from distance on the 5th minute to put Harps back in front but this was once again cancelled out with a Pat Harte free. Brian Craig scored a point before the home side scored 3 unanswered points through Gerry McGowan, Pat Harte and John Quinn. A goal from Thomas Cryan in the 21st minute put Harps into the lead. Tourlestrane had a chance to get a goal of their own in the 25th minute had Gary Gaughans shot not taken a deflection. Alan Dunne scored the qualiser for Tourlestrane on the 32nd minute of the first half with a long distant effort leaving the teams level at the interval.

The half time score 0-6 to 1-3.

The second half started with Gerry McGowan and Thomas Cryan swapping frees before Tourlestrane hit 3 points, McGowan, Alan Dunne and substitute James Leonard registering scores for the green and gold. Harps midfielder, Kevin Gallagher was issued the only black card of the game during this spell of play. Cyran and Stephen Henry exchanged good scores before Easter Harps hit 8 minutes of dominance which saw them score 5 points, Cryan (2), Fiachra Gorman (2) and Michael Clarke all getting on the scoreboard. McGowan and Cyran pointed on the 24th and 26th minute respectively to leave the score 1-11 to 0-12 points in favour of the Eastern team. But Tourlestrane finished strong and received scores from corner back,Colin Neary, and an equaliser in the 30th minute from Pat Harte, ensured a draw and a share of the spoils in the last round of Group 3.

Final score 0-14 to 1-11.

Tourlestrane: Padraig McVeigh, Diarmuid Dunne (Cpt), Barry Walsh, Colin Neary(0-01), John F Carr, Noel Gaughan, Brian Kennedy, Adrian McIntyre, Stephen Henry(0-01), Gary Gaughan, Pat Harte(0-04), Niall Egan, Alan Dunne(0-02), John Quinn(0-01), Gerry McGowan(0-04).
Subs: James Leonard(0-01) for Quinn, John Marren for D Dunne.
Eastern Harps: Stephen Heraughty, Darragh Madden, Ross Donavan (Cpt), Keith Judge, Kevin Cryan, Mike Grady, Michael Clarke (0-1), Kevin Gallagher (BC), Tony Taylor(0-01), Daniel Flaherty, John Rafferty, Brian Craig(0-01), Gavin Horan, Thomas Cryan(1-6), Martin Doherty 
Subs: Barry Cryan, Fiachra Gorman (0-2)

Our Senior team will play Coolera/Strandhill in the Sligo Senior Quarter Final on Saturday the 3rd of October at 5.45pm in Markievicz Park. 

Our Junior B team were crowned county champions on Sunday when they beat Coolaney/Mullinabreena on a scoreline of 7-17 to 2-3 in Kilcoyne Park, Tubbercurry.First half goals from Liam Gaughan (2), Ciaran Walsh, Darren O'Hara, Kenny Gavighan, Richie Lang and James Curley and points courtesey of Rian Kennedy (3), Niall Durkin (2), Walsh (2), Eoin Fleming, Shane Dunne and Gaughan put the boys in green and gold in the driving seat as they lead at half time on a score of 7-10 to 0-1. Coolaney/Mullinabreena's only score of the half coming from Eoghan O'Dowd. The boys in blue came out stronger in the second half and hit back with goals from Shane Marren and Conor McCormack but it wasn't enough. Further points in the second half from Niall Brennan, Darren O'Hara, Rian Kennedy, Liam Gaughan (2), James Curley and Richie Lang sealed victory for our Juniors. 

Tourlestrane: David O'Hara, Shane Neary, Darren Leonard, Niall Durkin(0-2), JP Lang, Colm McVeigh, Richie Lang(1-1), James Curley(1-1), Kenny Gavigan(1-0), Liam Gaughan(2-3), Shane Dunne(0-1), Rian Kennedy(0-4), Darren O'Hara(1-1), Ciaran Walsh(1-2), Eoin Fleming(0-1).

Subs: Danial Clarke, Enda Gallagher, Barry Brennan, Gearoid Brennan, Ruiairi Brennan, Niall Brennan(0-1), Jimmy Walsh, Austin O'Hara, Conor Walsh, Diarmuid Brennan, Eamon Coyne, Jerome Quinn, Matthew Lang, Thomas Brennan, Barry Kirrane, Matthew Brennan, Enda Kelly. 

Sunday marked a very special occasion for our U-14 girls team and management who took part in the All Ireland Ladies Finals in Croke Park. Collette Walsh, Claire Hegarty, Catherine Marren, Ellen Bailey, Erin Timlin, Katie Molloy, Leonie Gaughan, Sarah Cunney, Laura Surlis, Tara Walsh, Catherine Brennan and Caitriona Mooney all represented the club as ball girls during the three matches. Well done to all involved. 

Best of luck to all our club players playing for St. Attracta's CS in the first round of the Connacht A Senior Schools Championship on Wednesday at 12.30pm in Roscommon.  

The 3rd Quarterly Draw for our Lottery Syndicate members took place last night, Fri Sept 25th, in the new Abbey Gym at Banada Abbey. 
€4,400 in prizes was handed out. The winners were as follows:
€1000 Mickey Rochford 
€500 Jack Cooke/Eddie OHara, Ian Leonard 
€250 Shay Gillen, Siobhan Crawley, Stephen Roddy, Porick Murray 
€200 Patricia Gawley/Loretta Horan, Patrick Harte 
€100 winners: James Leonard (Carrigeen), Padraig Maye, Cathy Egan/Ann Victory, Martin Walsh (Carrane), Niall Tracey, Michael Leonard (Claddagh), Shay Monaghan, Willie Kavanagh, Colm Corcoran, Gerry Gavigan.
Thanks for your support.

The next Banada Teenage Disco takes place on October 23rd. 

Bingo every Tuesday night in Banada Abbey Hall. Snowball 2,400 euro on 45 calls or less, Jackpot 1480 euro on 48 calls or less, Lotto 240 euro. Minimum 2,000 euro paid out each night.