Club News‎ > ‎

Club Notes: 27th of April 2014

posted 4 May 2014, 05:26 by Tourlestrane GAA PRO
Our Senior men drew with Tubbercurry on Friday last in round 4 of the
league on a scoreline of  0-11 each. The team play Eastern Harps in
round 5 of the league on Saturday, the 3rd of May at 7.30pm in

Our Junior team had a good win on Sunday morning last when they
overcame Eastern Harps in Keash on a score line of 0-8 to 0-5.The team
line out was: Peter Mulholland, Shane Neary, Enda Gallagher, Colm
McVeigh, Eamon Coyne, Padraig McVeigh, Niall Durkin, Oisin Kennedy,
Ciaran Walsh, Jerome Quinn, Kenneth Gavigan, Rian Kennedy, Niall
Brennan, Andrew Kennedy, Gearoid Brennan & Paul Marren. The Junior
management team this year is Peter Molloy, Martin Walsh, Stephen
McCloskey, Enda Kelly & David McVeigh.Their next game is away to
Coolaney/Mullinabreena on the May Bank Holiday Monday at 2pm.

Our Minor team lost to Curry on Wednesday last in a highly
entertaining encounter, the scoreline was 1-13 to 3-11.

Our U-12 boys team put up a great performance in the first round of
the league recently against Eastern Harps but fell short just at the
end. 0-15 to 0-11. The team will be looking to record their first win,
when they take on Owenmore Gaels at Connolly Park on Tuesday the 29th
of April.

Our Senior Ladies team recorded a good win over St. Michael's on
Sunday morning, final score 3-14 to 1-5. Congratulations to Senior
Ladies player, Tracy O'Hara on being selected on the British
Universities All Star team. This follows her performance with
University of Liverpool this year. Well done Tracy!

Displaying Tracy O Hara.jpg
DIVISION 3 AN TAIN LEAGUE FINAL Tooreen (B) (Mayo)………..4-12
Tourlestrane (Sligo)………..0-7 By Michael O Connor A novel pairing in
this first year of a division 3 final in the An Tain League. The
Connacht GAA centre housed in perfect underfoot conditions the top two
sides following the league and semi final series in division 3.
Tooreen who were stretching their collective adult panel to field two
sides were taking on Sligo side Tourlestrane. Both sides met earlier
in the league series with Tooreen running out comfortable winners.
Playing with a strong breeze the Mayo side who are also in the
Division 1 decider were quickly into their stride as team captain Matt
Flannery opened the scoring with centre back Ciaran Finn scoring two
frees as wing back Dylan Lynskey soloed upfield for a well taken
point. This trend of score taking continued for the Tooreen men as
Shane Boland who was the best forward on view and Flannery once more
had Tooreen six clear. Tourlestrane were finding it difficult to break
down a well organised Tooreen defence despite the best efforts of
Stephen Roddy, Eoin McDonagh and Ruaidhri Brennan. Tooreen went on a
scoring spree in the second quarter and hit 3-2 from play as opposed
to a single score from a Ruaidhri Brennan pointed free in the 25th
minute. David Harrison was scorer in chief with (2-1) as Shane Boland
struck the third goal. Garry Nolan was on hand with the other Tooreen
score as they were resting on a (3-8) to (0-1) half time lead with the
wind in their faces for the second half. The Sligo side improved
considerably in the second half and added six points but could not
score the goals needed to make the last quarter meaningful. Ciaran
Walsh and Ruaidhri Brennan (2) added a hat trick of points but Shane
Boland negated that fightback with Tooreen’s fourth goal after 38
minutes. The game petered out as a contest with Tooreen totally on top
and claiming a deserved win as Tourlestrane worked hard but were
unable to match the goal scoring exploits of their opponents. The
champions had solid displays in success from Shane Boland, David
Harrison, Matthew Flannery, David Kenny, Ciaran Finn, Nick Freyne and
John Judge. Tourlestrane had an enjoyable campaign and will benefit
from the competition with capable performers such as Tom Brennan,
Padraig McVeigh, Eoin McDonagh, Ciaran Walsh, Ruaidhri Brennan, Enda
Gallagher and Richard Murtagh. Tourlestrane:Declan Loughnane, Colm
McVeigh, Enda Gallagher, Shane Neary, Sean Wimsey. Tom Brennan,
Richard Murtagh, Jonathan Durkin, Eoin McDonagh, Peadar Leonard,
Padraig McVeigh (0-1), J P Lang, Ciaran Walsh (0-1), Stephen Roddy,
Ruaidri Brennan (0-5). Dean Glavey, Niall Robinson.